What are Ohio’s drinking and driving laws?

What are Ohio’s drinking and driving laws?

| Jun 12, 2015 | Car Accidents |

No matter where you go in the United States, drinking and driving is illegal. But each state has its own qualifications of drunk driving, and they also have their own consequences. Ohio takes the safety of its motorists very seriously and has strict laws regarding this sort of behavior.

For adults over the age of 21, a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher qualifies as operating a vehicle while intoxicated, or OVI. If you are pulled over under suspicion of drunk driving and fail a sobriety test, the consequences begin immediately. From that point on, you lose your license and are forbidden to drive for a period of time ranging from three months to five years. You could also face jail time for the offense.

Once you are allowed to get your license back, the reinstatement fee could be as much as $475, depending on your driving record. In addition, you will get six points on your license. A second OVI within six years will lead to your vehicle being immobilized, and further offenses could mean forfeiting your vehicle altogether.

If you are under 21, a BAC of .02 percent to .08 percent is considered an OVAUC, or Operating a Vehicle After Underage Consumption. You will also face a license suspension for a period of time between three months to two years. You will have to go through driving class again and pass the exam. After all that, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee to get your license back — and it will have four points on it.

If you have been in an accident with a drunk driver, it recommended that you contact an attorney immediately, who may be able to assist you in understanding your rights.