Menu

Ohio targets teenage drivers to reduce car accident rates

We recently wrote a post about teenage drivers and the high percentage of serious injury and death they cause each year on the roads and highways of Ohio. Now, new state law targets drivers who are younger than 18 years of age in an effort to make them and the highways safer.

Under the new rules, teenagers will not be allowed to drive between the hours of 12:00 a.m and 6:00 a.m. unless they have a parent or guardian riding with them. Teens may drive alone during the restricted hours if they have written proof that it is to get to and from work, school or church activities. 

The new law will try to cut down on the problem that exists with young motorists who are texting and driving through communities such as Franklin County. The law prohibits cellphone use by drivers who are younger than 18 years of age. Risks posed by the distracted driver are also addressed by a provision of the law limiting the number of occupants during nighttime curfew hours to just one person who must be a family member.

Restricting the time of day and manner in which a teenage driver may use a motor vehicle is expected to reduce the risk of a young driver being involved in a drunk driving accident. This could happen because police will be watching for and stopping young drivers during the overnight hours, or teenagers will be staying off the roads instead of going out with friends.

Even though officials are hopeful about the new teenage driving law reducing the serious injury and pain and suffering that results from a serious car accident, the actual results of the new restrictions will have to await the law going into effect. In the meantime, a person injured in an auto wreck should seek assistance and legal advice from a Columbus personal injury attorney.

Source: WKSU, “New laws for Ohio’s teen drivers take effect Wednesday,” Lauren Blue, June 29, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information